71.6 F
Tuesday, January 31, 2023

Finally, Yucatán approves marriage-equality bill

State is No. 22 out of 32 to follow Supreme Court ruling

Latest headlines

Carlos Rosado van der Gracht
Carlos Rosado van der Gracht
Born in Mérida, Carlos Rosado van der Gracht is a Mexican/Canadian blogger, photographer and adventure expedition leader. He holds degrees in multimedia, philosophy and translation from universities in Mexico, Canada and Norway. Sign up for the Yucatán Roundup, a free newsletter, which delivers the week's top headlines every Monday.
Advocates of Yucatán’s marriage equality bill celebrate their victory. Photo: Courtesy

Yucatán’s legislature has passed a new bill making same-sex marriage the law of the land.

The new law now defines marriage as being between two people, no longer a man and a woman. 

The vote passed with 20 votes in favor and five against. Attempts to pass a measure to allow gay and lesbian couples to marry previously failed twice, most recently in 2019.

In 2015 Mexico’s Supreme Court ruled that it was unconstitutional to prevent people of the same gender from marrying. However, several jurisdictions have refused to ratify the decision.

Earlier: Allies join the fight for marriage equality in Yucatán

“With this vote, we in Yucatán ratify our respect for the Mexican constitution and the liberties which it guarantees,” said Karla Franco, a PRI lawmaker.

Before today’s ruling, it was already technically possible for same-sex couples to marry in Yucatán using a legal recourse known as an amparo, or an order of protection.

With today’s vote, Yucatán becomes the 22nd of 32 states in Mexico to ratify marriage equality.

This time, the measure came before an open vote. Lawmakers who opposed gay marriage were:

  • Mirthea Arjona Marín, PRI
  • Rosa Adriana Díaz Lizama, PAN
  • Manuel Armando Díaz Suárez, PAN
  • Marcos Nicolás Rodríguez Ruz, PRI
  • Victor Merari Sánchez Roca, PAN

The representatives who voted in favor were:

  • Luis María Aguilar Castillo, Nueva Alianza
  • Kathia María Bolio Pinelo, PAN
  • Luis Enrique Borjas Romero, PRI
  • Miguel Edmundo Candila Noh, Morena
  • Martín Enrique Castillo Ruz, PRI
  • Felipe Cervera Hernández, PRI
  • Mario Alejandro Cuevas Mena, PRD
  • Janice Escobedo Salazar, PRI
  • Leticia Gabriela Euán Miss, Morena
  • Katia Franco Blanco, PRI
  • Lila Rosa Frías Castillo, PRI
  • Luis Loeza Pacheco. Morena
  • Silvia López Escoffié, MC
  • Warnel May Escobedo, PRI
  • María Teresa Moisés Escalante, PRI
  • Fatima del Rosario Perera Salazar, Morena
  • Miguel Esteban Rodríguez Baqueiro, PAN
  • Harry Rodríguez Botello Fierro, PVEM
  • Milagros Romero Bastarrachea, MC
  • Paulina Viana Gómez, PAN
- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles